Koinonia is excited to announce the winners of the Peter Nebenzahl Champion Award. These winners were selected from a field of incredible nominees for best exemplifying Koinonia’s Core Values (Respect, Accountability, Integrity, Trust) and utilizing trauma-informed care techniques in their work.

Through the generosity of Nancy Nebenzahl and other donors to the Peter Nebenzahl Champion Award Fund, each winner will receive a $500 cash prize.

The winners of this year’s Peter Nebenzahl Champion Award are:

  • Charletta McDowell, nominated by Jennifer Rocco

“Charletta strives to provide as many opportunities and options to the ladies who live at McCracken. She truly knows the ladies and listens to what they each want and need. She leads by example and takes ownership on what she is responsible for. Charletta is an integral part of the McCracken team.”

  • Elizabeth Galarza, nominated by Lisanne Bright & Jennifer Rocco

“Elizabeth is a caring individual, thorough and dedicated to the clients she serves. In my interactions with her, she asks for advice appropriately, follows directives, advocates for her clients at medical appointments, and enriches the lives of those she provides care and services to. She has integrity, commitment, and kindness in all things she does.”

  • Justin Lambert, nominated by James Frankino

“Justin continues to lead his team to success despite the many obstacles they have faced. His careful approach and ability to think and plan prior to reaction has helped in times of crisis and need. He is able to critically think and maneuver past barriers with one goal in mind, success for the individuals and his team members. Justin is an asset to Koinonia, as well as the field in which we serve.”

  • Natalie Cody, nominated by Jennifer Rocco & Renee Dezso

“Natalie epitomizes what you would want in a DSP. She has fully adopted the TIC strategies taught and given to her for the home and in turn has built trusting relationships with the ladies in the home to help them feel connected and safe. These relationships that she has built have helped in the ladies feeling comfortable enough to go to many places outside of the home that they have not been able to go in the past.”

Additionally, we’d like to congratulate the finalists of the Peter Nebenzahl Champion Award. Each finalist will be receiving a $100 cash award through the generosity of Nancy Nebenzahl:

  • Consuela Williams
  • Dionte Pierce
  • Kim Wagoner
  • Laverne Jones
  • Nicole Leyman
  • Renee Dezso
  • Shariese Heard
  • Meshalena Collins
  • Joel Reikowsky
  • Margaret Byrd